Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cost Plus Home Building

Cost Plus Home Building

I'm looking into building a home on our 35 acres in southern Colorado. I've found a builder/general contractor that I like. He does his work on a cost plus basis. He basically charges a 15% margin on all materials and labor as his contractor fee. He has crews that do the finish carpentry and painting and he subcontracts everything else. He has indicated that I can do some of the work myself if we can agree on items that won't hold up the progress or delay any crews. That's ok with me since I'm not experienced and will essentially be a laborer on the job. What things should I watch out for in signing a cost plus contract? Is 15% margin reasonable? What requirements should I place on him, such as insurance, being bonded?? What is customary as a holdback payment to finish punch-list items at the end of the project? Any advice or experiences are welcomed!
    Joe

Re: Cost Plus Home Building

If you talk to previous customers of this builder, then you will know what to do. Cost plus is a guarantee for the builder and nothing for you.

I just finished a home and used a new builder who wanted to do the job cost plus. We agreed on a fixed price and he did a wonderful job building the house. He then built my barn on a cost plus agreement. I knew by then that I could trust him. When I was going to start the deck on the new house, I fell and broke two ribs. I asked him to put the deck on and send me the bill. A good job at a fair price and that is all you can ask.

Just remember that you have no way of really checking up on the cost of the supplies or if they actually reach your job. You have to be able to trust a cost plus builder with your blank check. There is a cost plus builder in our area that has a barn full of lumber and other building supplies. Can you guess where they came from?