Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pool Closing

Pool Closing

Don't know if this should go here or in the "Water" forum.

Finally getting around to closing my pool. This is my first time. I tool out a book at the library & the advice seems to echo the info I've heard so far.

Basically:
    Set water chemistry right
    Super Chlorinate
    Lower water level below jets
    Blow out lines
    plug lines
    Add antifreeze
    Remove DE filter cartridge

My question is how do I blow out the lines? I have an aircompressor and a shop vac at my disposal. Where do I blow in? Any fittings I need?
    Hazmat

Re: Pool Closing

I'm not sure where to hook it up, but the folks that winterize a friend's pool used a shop vac. You want volume of air. High pressure is not required. A leaf blower with the correct fitting might also work.
    Gary
    ----------------------------------------------
    Hey! Aren't you supposed to be working?

Thanks Gary, Makes sense

I suppose I should buy the antifreeze at the pool store & pick their brains a little.
    Hazmat

I suppose a shopvac would work, but I use my compressor with a little adapter to connect the small compressor fitting to the larger pvc pipe.

I have two intake and two outtakes on my pool, so I disconnect everthing at the filter and blow out all 4 lines from the pool house towards the pool (i.e. the water ends up in the pool, not all over the pool shack.

Not sure about yoursetup, but you are also going to want to drain the filter itself if its not in a heated area. (usually a drain plug at the bottom).

I also completely disconnect the pump and store it in the heated cellar.

Let me know if you have any other questions...good luck. [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Sounds like a plan. I have three ins and three outs. If I disconnect at the unions on the filter I can blow out the outs on one pipe & the ins on the other.