Thread: electric cars

Cambridge, NY, in the beautiful foothills of the Green Mountains.

electric cars

Anybody have any experience with either all electric cars, such as the GEM, or a hybrid, such as the Prius or Insight. With the all electric cars, can you recharge with solar, or must you plug them into your electric? [img]/forums/images/icons/crazy.gif[/img]

Re: electric cars

<font color="blue"> With the all electric cars, can you recharge with solar, or must you plug them into your electric?
    </font color>
    The commericial electric cars that I have seen all require that you plug them in.

As an engineer, I'd recommend the hybrid vehicles. Battery &amp; fuel cell technology does not yet make a 100% electric a viable option (epecially in a "rural" setting). The battery power does not have enough range &amp; the fuel cells require exotic (as in not available) fuels (methane).

The hybrid is a "best of both worlds" solution. A car requires much more power to accelerate than to run at speed. The gas engine is sized to provide steady state cruising &amp; recharge the battery. The electric motor kicks in for that extra umph needed to accelerate on the on ramp &amp; around town. The infastructure is already in place (gas stations). You don't need to plug the car in. The fuel economy &amp; emmisions are excellant.

Only downside is that someday the battery will need to be replaced for much $$$$$$.

Hazmat

Earthmother, In theory you could recharge an electric car with solar energy. As a practical matter, the solar arrray required to do this in a practical time period would have costs on a scale equivalent to the car or even more. Many people drive more in the daytime and do most of their charging overnight, not a good solar charger situation. For those wanting to charge up at work for the drive home, you'll need more real estate that the top of the vehicle to locate your solar farm.