Thread: Volunteering

Volunteering

Slow day at work so I'm chatting up a storm [img]/forums/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]

I signed up to be a ski patroller at the local "mountain" Ski Bradford

This winter I will be trained in the "skiing part" ie toboggan handling etc. Followed by the first aid (Outdoor Emergency Care). I feel its a good way for me to give a little back to a sport I enjoy. One of the perks is your family gets to ski for free [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

While in college I was a volunteer firefighter in Cayuga Heights. I've thought about getting back into that, maybe when all the house projects are done. Our local department is actually a paid call system, but when you figure the hourly rate, you have to consider that you are voluteering a majority of that hour!

Please share your experiences.
    Hazmat

Re: Volunteering

I was a volunteer firefighter for a few years, a few years back, but unfortunately I moved to another town (only 5 miles away, but a new town none-the-less) and the volunteer fireman in this town had a very different attitude towards newcomers...it was kind of like "we'll I guess we can't STOP you from being a volunteer....." I got the picture...and the unsaid message.

ANyway, I haven't lost the bug, because I am am at home almost all the time, and most volunteers work out of town, I have felt guilty about not still being a volunteer.

I have actually had plans to talk to the guys from my old dept and see if they would let me still be a volunteer even though I don't live in town (my house is only 1.1 miles over the border, and there is precendent for this with other members).

Anyway, this time around I was thinking more of volunteering as an EMT(I would need to take the training), which are in very high demand because of the few number of people that 1) are smart enough to actually pass the tests, and 2) are willing to put the time in to classroom study to get certified.