Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First egg

First egg

My first flock of chickens will be ready to lay their first eggs in a few weeks. What's a good way to encourage them to use the nest boxes rather than just laying the eggs in a corner of the coop.

Re: First egg

I wish I knew the answer to this one. Ours lay in the hay loft, on the ground, in the sheep pen, oh, and sometimes in the laying baskets! A friend told me that it is important for the laying boxes to face north so that there is the least amount of light on them, but I have not tried out this theory yet.

Frank
    Staunton, VA

I am no expert but my farm girl wife just moved any mislaid eggs into one of the boxes. It seemed to work. Took a minute but as I remember the old hen house on the farm faced east and ours faced south and had a good size window in the south wall. The window had an extended roof over it to shade the it.

Cambridge, New York in beautiful Washington County, next to Vermont

You'll get some in the egg boxes, and some all over the place. Are you free ranging your chickens? That's what we do. You have to keep searching, and hopefully, you'll find the chickens' favorite laying spots, and you'll be able to collect as many eggs as possible. Every once in a while, we'll move something in one of our barns and find a collection of eggs that we didn't expect. Since we don't know how long they were sitting there, we feed them back to the chickens. Chickens love smashed eggs!![img]/forums/images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
    Rich
    "What a long strange trip it's been."

We have some fake eggs (ceramic?) for that purpose. Keep a couple in each nesting box and collect the eggs laid errantly ASAP and the biddies soon get the idea. What kinda chickens you got?

RichZ,

I think you have just trained your chickens to eat eggs. [img]/forums/images/icons/wink.gif[/img]