Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Converting 110 to 220 electrical question

Converting 110 to 220 electrical question

Boy, I sure am asking quite a bit lately!
    Have a room addition with a baseboard heater in it that barely runs. It is capable of running 110 or 220 but is running at 110 now.
    It is the only item on the circuit run with 12awg wire.
    Can I just mark the nuetral (white) wire and connect it to a second breaker ( I have an available 220 double gang breaker from an old electric water heater that is unused.)
    Would this work. I have read that this is an option.

Awaiting your knowledge!

Curtis
    Livin' the simple life, 'ceptin' my high speed internet! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

Re: Converting 110 to 220 electrical question

I would think you want 3 wire for 220. Two are hot one is ground. 220 has 3 wires in it plus a ground. Im no electrician but that dont sound right. Just my 2-cents worth
    good luck Larry

You can make this work, but it is not code. The problem being (IMO) that if anything happens that causes a fire in your house, the insurance co. will find this non-code method and may deny you any coverage.

My advice would be to run another wire from the service entry to the heater. At least make it meet the code for your own protection. There are good reasons for having the neutral and the ground wire along with the two hot wires. But they are not necessary to get the 220 to work, just more sensible.

But, just my opinion.

I do have a ground wire, so that should be fine.. but I have read that 220 wiring has no neutral wire. Now I am confused...
    Thanks for the inputs though.
    Any more thoughts?
    Livin' the simple life, 'ceptin' my high speed internet! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]