Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: European Light Fixtures

European Light Fixtures

Not being an electrician I need help. I have seen some styles of light fixtures that I would like to have in my planned log home. Other than changing the plug an bulb are there any other concerns that I should have?? Being as the cord is designed for 220V I assume 110 would be no problem?? I have seen some styles that I havent seen back home and would sure like to bring back with me. [img]/forums/images/icons/confused.gif[/img]

Re: European Light Fixtures

Do the bulbs used in Europe have the same base as those we use in North America? Never considered that before. Other than that you might find that the spacing of the mounting holes and the like don't fit the American boxes. Also might not be UL listed, and that might be an issue if a fire, heaven forbid, is traced to one of those fixtures.
    Gary
    ----------------------------------------------
    Hey! Aren't you supposed to be working?

The biggest issue we have with imported fixtures is a listing from some approved testing laboratory such as UL. I see too many that were made in Mexico, Italy and the like that just were made with safety in mind. Incorrect size wiring, bends in the arms of the fixture too tight pinching the wires....etc. NO GROUNDING means available.

Just my thoughts, but watch what you pick up.

Jerry