Thread: calling Inspector507

calling Inspector507

This ones for you guy [img]/forums/images/icons/smirk.gif[/img] What is 1/2 rigid metal conduit- type RMC? It says in my electrical specs for the pool this is threaded pipe not EMT. Is this pipe like you can use for water lines and pipe clamps? Its not the stuff they use in factories to run electrical lines...right. Thats the EMT if im correct. I only want to burrie power at 6" and this is the type pipe i have to use for code. This is in central NY. Ive got the papers on the codes and understand it for the most part. I do tool and die for a living and always wished i got into residentail electric as a trade job. I enjoy working with electric. Hopes to hear from ya soon or others that got the know how.
    Thanks Larry

Re: calling Inspector507

<font color="blue"> 1/2 rigid metal conduit- type RMC</font color> I typed that line into the search on Yahoo and came up with quite a list of places explaining what it is. The RMC stands for Rigid Metal Conduit.

Look up some of those sites and you may find the answers you are looking for. Any electrical supply house will likely have it if the box stores don't.

Good luck. [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Larry,
    RMC is in fact Rigid Metal Conduit. It is a heavywall galvanized pipe. Looks like water pipe as well. The NEC® specifies a burial depth of 6" minimum.
    Most box stores will have it in the electric aisle. It's a bear to bend if you don't have a bender.

Jerry

Thanks Inspector,