Thread: Is it Broccoli yet?

Is it Broccoli yet?

OK this is my first year with a real garden. I had planted some broccoli, and it "looks" like its ready, but I am not sure. How do you tell? When it look right, it is right? Now when I cut the stulk off, will it grow anouther head of broccoli? or do I just rip out the plant after the first crop? This is my first year planting it, so I have no idea. [img]/forums/images/icons/blush.gif[/img] Thanks!
    Paul Bradway

Re: Is it Broccoli yet?

My broccolli I picked when the first "main" head is about 3-4 inches in diameter...defintely do not want to wait to long because it very quickly goes from ready-to-eat to "flowered" and no longer edibile.

After you pick it (use scissors or a knife), several more smaller heads will continue to produce. Mine seem to produce for quite a while so you can harvest many times from each plant.

If you are not using pesticides (which I don't either), you are going to want to go thru them very, very closely and remove the tiny worms that live inside the heads when you wash them (or pretend I didn't tell you and consider it extra protien [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img] , I am sure they won't kill you).

Enjoy. Fresh broccolli just can't be beat.

Thanks. I will clean them good. I am not using any pesticides so I am sure something is there. [img]/forums/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img] Looks like I am picking tonight. [img]/forums/images/icons/laugh.gif[/img]
    Paul Bradway

Picked a few heads tonight. They look good. Now heres a weird one for you. I have never had fresh broccoli. How do I store it? In the fridge? Out on the counter? I have only ever had frozen. Thanks.
    Paul Bradway