Thread: What caused my corn to not develop fully?

What caused my corn to not develop fully?

My first attempt at sweet corn was a little disappointing. Most of the ears looked like the ones in the attachment. Any suggestions?

Re: What caused my corn to not develop fully?

I'm no expert, but I have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses....

Corn needs lots of water and fertilizer (especially nitrogen). These are especially needed while the ears are forming. If they didn't get enough of each, that hurts production. You might have left it on the stalk too long, also, by the looks of dents in the kernels.
    Were you growing white or yellow corn? It looks like someone near you was growing the opposite color corn, thus the white and yellow kernels. That happened to me this year, I grew Silver Queen and someone elso grew yellow corn. Some of my corn was yellow and white.
    Gary
    Bluegrass Music ...
    Finger-pickin' good!

Whats up doc?
    That corn doesn't look to bad to me, maybe a bit over ripe as Gary suggested. The top being "undeveloped" is a pollination issue. each silk must have pollen from the tassel at the top of the stalk in order to develope a kernal of corn. thats why you always need a couple of rows or blocks, in order to get proper pollination. looks like you have a bi-color type. if it was a bit tough, you probably picked it to late. still for your first attempt, that's pretty great [img]/forums/images/icons/laugh.gif[/img]
    paul

Not everyones born with a green thumb. Keep reading, asking questions and planting.

mikell

I planted two types of corn, both were to be bicolor. One type was supposed to be a very early maturer, but the ears were only 4 inches long! - but boy-o-boy was that corn sweet. The kids cracked up when I told them I had cooked 25 ears of corn for our family of five, but all the ears disappeared. The pictures were of my second type that I left on the stalk too long.