Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: screw gun

screw gun

Anyone screw gun owners out there? I'm looking for a screw gun to use for putting up some steel roofing & siding. Also would use it on decks, putting up OSB etc. I wouldn't be doing much drywall work. In the past, I have used my variable speed drill, but I'm sure a screw gun would work better. Now that I have a fairly decent job of probably driving in 500 or so screws for the steel siding, I'm looking for suggestions on which one to buy. [img]/forums/images/icons/confused.gif[/img]

Re: screw gun

i have always liked my dewalt drill/drivers. i am a fan of cordless. millwalkee (sp?) and mykita are also great. and the new stuff from rigid is soposed to be really nice. however i dont like the way the ryobi products feel. its more the ergonomics are wrong that low quality.
    hope this helps

I too wanted a screw gun, as I had been using DeWalt 12v and 14v drill drivers for several years, and was happy with them. However, I thought I still would like a screw gun. So I bought a Milwaukee a year ago, and used it on a deck project. Wasn't real impressed [img]/forums/images/icons/frown.gif[/img] , and reverted back to the DeWalts. After that, my son had a big drywall project. Aha! That screw gun will work good there. But again, reverted back to liking the feel and control of the DeWalts.

So, in my opinion, they are not what I thought they would be, and now it just sits there - waiting for a project that might be more suited for the screw gun than the portable DeWalts. But I am more knowledgeable than I used to be, so not complaining. [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

I have a Milwaukee and its real nice - sturdy as anything and it can be run hard all day long. However, the balance isn't as nice as a DeWalt. If/when I need a replacement, I'll look real close at the DeWalts.