Thread: Plumbing question - converting copper to CPVC

Plumbing question - converting copper to CPVC

My 25 year old house was originally all plumbed with copper. I need to replace the bathtub control valve and spout. Rather than use copper again, which is a pain and I'm not very experienced at it (I have done some sweat soldering, but that was a long long time ago in a galaxy far far away), instead I got a fitting at Menards that will fit onto the 1/2" (approx 5/8" OD) copper pipe with a ring (ferrule?) that tightens down onto the copper pipe (I forgot what this type of fitting is called) which converts to a 1/2" male pipe thread, then I can screw a plastic1/2" female pipe thread to 1/2" CPVC pipe adapter onto it. Then I can do the plumbing with CPVC. Has anyone done this? If so, how tight do I need to tighten the nuts for the fitting?

Re: Plumbing question - converting copper to CPVC

Ive gone from copper to PVC. With a compression fitting on the copper then the plastic threaded piece with thread tape on it. Make it tight, but dont break the fitting and youll be all set. Ive never had no problems with leaks or blow outs. I keep my pressure at 35-40lbs and my hot water at 150 degrees. Use PVC thats for hot water side though. There is a difference i guess. Ive sweat fitted too ,but im more confident in the plastic myself. Ive had copper leak, plastic never!
    Larry

For the compression copper fitting it should be finger tight and then about one and a half turns.

There is flexible plastic type tubing available that would install much easier than the PVCP.

Egon

Thanks to both of you. Yeah, "compression fitting" is what I was trying to remember it was called. I'll go ahead with it, since you both agree it should work.