Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinions and comments on wheel barrows

Opinions and comments on wheel barrows

OK, brain pool: the subject at hand is wheel barrows. The poly tubs would be better for mixing concrete in, right? (I'm thinking of the corrosive nature of concrete.) The poly can't rust. But, I've always had metal tubs on my wheel barrows. And that metal has rusted away after about 10 years. Then there's the knobby tire; why? For off-road use? Like all the others are used on the highway? [img]/forums/images/icons/confused.gif[/img]

Re: Opinions and comments on wheel barrows

I personally like the plastic ones. For me, they seem to hold up longer.
    I've been using the same one for 11 years now, only had to replace the thin tire.
    My father likes the metal ones and they last about 5 or 6 years. I use his old tire as my spare! [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
    Gary
    Bluegrass Music ...
    Finger-pickin' good!

Hi
    I have a metal tub and its as good as the day I bought it 30 years ago. I replaced the wheel about 10 years ago and I repainted the tub 1 time and I expect it will out live me.

charlie

I like the all metal "contractor" type wheel barrow. I find that even if you kep everything tight, the ones with wood handles with the tub attached wobble too much with a heavy load.

It is a pain when you hit a bump or dip, and the wheel barrow wobbles and you have to stabalize it. It is even worse when the thing flexes a bit too!

They are more expensive, but well worth it, IMHO.

We have horses and use our wheelbarrows every day. After trying several kinds, we buy nothing but a dual-wheel with the poly tub. They hold up well with heavy loads and they are much easier to wheel around.... especially for heavy loads.
    wheelbarrow ... of course, we pay significantly less for them at the end of the season when Truevalue puts them on sale. [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Same as Charlie.

Hi