Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Goat farming income?

Goat farming income?

This probably sounds silly, but I am new to farming (just bought 3.5 acres) and was wondering if a family can make a living by raising goats? If so, how, what breed and how many etc...

Thanks in advance for any info....

Kelly

Re: Goat farming income?

I thought abou this also but have to friends who quit doing it.
    Two reaons:
    1) fences
    2) coyote candy

Be careful that all your profits are not eaten or run away to greener grass before being eaten.

Fred

Probably, there's a dairy near here that milks 140 does a day. They make a living, but it's a lot of hard, hard work.

I've had people tell me they are making money off breeding, but from what I can see that's pretty tough too. (Money, yes, but a living?)

Goats make good pets and you can sell a little milk on the side and perhaps a kid or two. If you get into it, check with a farm vet first, to find out what kind of testing is necessary.

Steve

We have 10 acres. We have this divided into two fields, one is 3.5 acres, one is 5.5 acres, and an acre for the yard. We bought 5 nanny goats (1 alpine-nubian cross, one nubian something else cross, 2 that I'm not sure what their breeds are. Our Billy is a Boer. We had 350 invested in our original herd (150 for the Billy, about 40 each on average for each nanny). We had our first kids last month- 9 were born, 6 survived. One more nanny is due to kid soon. We plan to sell the little billy kids this fall, and keep the new nannies to increase the size of our herd. Our goal is to have 20-30 nannies and one or two billys by May 2005. We have gone from 5 to 8 nannies already with one set of births
    We have goats for three reasons. Mainly, to have something to sell for the tax break, and to enjoy the farming experience while hopefully breaking even soon (3 years).