Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Substitute teaching

Substitute teaching

[img]/forums/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img] All the time I was out there in the business world scratching and clawing a living out of the entrepreneural landscape [img]/forums/images/icons/crazy.gif[/img] I had an idea in the back of my mind that once I retired I might go into teaching. [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img] Well, now is the time! [img]/forums/images/icons/crazy.gif[/img] I have been taking night classes to get my certification to teach grades 7-12 as a sub. I have a college degree and am competent in many solid subjects, so I only have to learn "classroom mechanics" and how to teach in today's out-of-control litigious atmosphere. [img]/forums/images/icons/frown.gif[/img] In modern classrooms it is all about protecting yourself from the kids whose goal it is to accuse you of SOMETHING so they can get money in a lawsuit or wreck your teaching career. [img]/forums/images/icons/mad.gif[/img] I only have two more evening classes to take at sub skool, and have already begun the background and fingerprint check needed to be certified. [img]/forums/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img] Subbing is just about the best gig going out here in the sticks; they pay about a hundred per day. [img]/forums/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
    CJDave

Re: Substitute teaching

Dave, I think that's a fine idea. "Professional" school teachers are, of course, needed and many do a fine job. I have a lot of admiration for them, but I think it's a good idea to bring in teachers with "real world" business experience, too.

I am in my third year of being a sub. I enjoy doing it and I'm often requested by the regular teachers. Last year I sub'd 150 days during the school year. Although I will go where ever the coordinator needs me, I am almost always in the high school or middle school. I'm only 5 miles from home and out at 2 pm. This leaves plenty of time to work the farm chores.