Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: horse lovers

horse lovers

I have been looking for a beginners horse for myself and 4 daughters for months now. I 've tried locally, newpaper, rescues and no luck. My big hurtle is that my husband won't pay over $500. The daily cost and up keep isn't an issue. I'm getting desperate, I've been riding and I'm an ok beginner rider but I don't want to be great just good enough to share some small easy trail rides w/ a horse on our farm. A senior horsewould be perfect. Its a childhood dream to have a horse to love and take good care of. Does anyone have any ideas? Anyone have or know of a horse that needs a new home? [img]/forums/images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
    its 5 o'clock somewhere

Cambridge, New York in beautiful Washington County, next to Vermont

Re: horse lovers

$500 is not a reasonable price for a horse. I got all three of my horses from a horse rescue group, where they buy up horses destined for the meat market at auctions. My wife and I are not accomplished riders either, and two of the horses we got are quarterhorse geldings who had been at a summer camp that closed. They were starved and skin and bones, but we got them back into great shape. They are gentle, sweet and loving, and since they were used to having kids riding on them, they're pretty much bomb proof. But even from a rescue group, you have to reimburse their expenses, such as the cost for them at the auction and vet and farrier fees. Our two boys cost us $1600 for the two of them, which I consider incredibly cheap, considering what great horses they are.

Very occasionally you hear about someone willing to give up a horse to a good home, but usually there are issues of some sort with the horse. Tell your husband he's not being realistic, because he's not. Then contact the horse rescue groups in your area, and tell them what you're looking for.