Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chicken/Egg Question

Chicken/Egg Question

Now I'm first to admit that I am not an expert on a great many subjects, and one of those things are chickens. Things I don't know much about that is.

Bought some Jumbo Brown eggs at the supermarket last week. Didn't care that they were brown, but wanted to try the jumbo size.

Have used 9 of the dozen and they are all double yoked. Were not marked as such on the box. Just marked Jumbo Brown.

This raises several questions in my mind.

Are all jumbo eggs double yoked? Or do they candle them and select for double yokes?

Is the fact that they are brown a factor? Wouldn't think so. But refer to the part where I say I don't know much about chickens.

If they knew that they were all doubles, why not mark it on the container?

What breed of chicken lays brown eggs?

Make me smarter! [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
    Gary
    ----------------------------------------------
    Hey! Aren't you supposed to be working?

Re: Chicken/Egg Question

<font color="blue"> What breed of chicken lays brown eggs?
    </font color>

Dark pigmented chickens.

Gary,
    There are quite a few different breeds that lay brown eggs. There are some chickens that even lay blue or turquoise eggs. You can find out quite a bit about different breeds at Murray McMurray Hatchery.

One of the large breeds that produce brown eggs are the New Hampshire Reds , others include the Barred Rocks and the Rhode Island Reds.

I don't believe that there is any specific correlation between the 'jumbo' egg designation and the double yolks, just that the double yolk eggs are probably more likely to meet the size/dimensions required to grade into the 'jumbo' size.

larry
    [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Is this a great place or what!

OK, now that leads to a followup question:

Can double yoke eggs hatch two chicks?
    Gary