Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dog obedience hand-signals?

dog obedience hand-signals?

I did novice obedience in college but I can't remember the signal for sit. Isn't that dumb, probably most used... can anyone help me. Do you know it? [img]/forums/images/icons/blush.gif[/img]
    its 5 o'clock somewhere

Re: dog obedience hand-signals?

I just use my index figure and point and they both sit. I have no idea if that is correct or not. They seem to think so.

as far as i know the signal is what ever you make it. we use a flat hand with a downward motion.

I am no expert here. I seem to recall that our friends, who are defense/police dog trainers will use anything the handler wants but generally seem to use the following:
    1. Stop - Hand out with palm flat and the palm on a vertical plane
    2. Sit - Hand flat with palm down. Then with a small sweeping motion rotate your hand to so the palm is up. Also accompany this with a slight lift of the hand.
    3. Down - Start with the hand a bit higher, palm down and then drop your hand about 6-9" and hold it there.

Thats what we use and they seem to be easy to see for the dogs - not that they always listen.... [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Mark

Thats the ones that I was taught! THANK YOU. [img]/forums/images/icons/laugh.gif[/img]
    its 5 o'clock somewhere

<font color="purple"> 2. Sit - Hand flat with palm down. Then with a small sweeping motion rotate your hand to so the palm is up. Also accompany this with a slight lift of the hand </font color>

That's what we've always used, including for the police K-9. Not so formal for the first part (palm down), more the upward sweeping motion.

Thanks Hank. I am no expert. I just recall seeing our friends do it that way.

A good defense/police dog is fun to watch as they practice for the real world.

Mark

<font color="purple"> A good defense/police dog is fun to watch as they practice for the real world </font color>