Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How about Mules!

How about Mules!

any longears out there? i have been rasing mules for 11 yrs now. i love them. i have one that will untie her self in the horse trailor and then untie her sisiter..i use panic knots incase somthing would happen and have to untie them in a hurry, now i tie them up with knot out side thehorse trailor.. got tired of that ol mule laughing at me , we had an arabin mule born last aug. wow what a hand full she is..been working with her, cant wait till spring and mud drys up.. Rose [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Re: How about Mules!

Welcome to CBN.
    We don’t own any mules but I have ridden them in the past and used them for packing in the backcountry. I like them and they sure are smart. There is a 28 year old kid that lives down the hill that inherited a house free and clear and enough money to retire on. He decided that he wanted to be a cowboy with his free time and someone talked him into buying a mule. Unfortunately he did not really know how to ride and he found a place that had a backyard pleasure horse trainer to help him out.

I would see that kid out there getting all bowed up and red in the face trying to get that mule to do anything. About one in a hundred that kid would cue the mule in a way that it could figure out and the mule would respond. But neither that kid nor the horse trainer understood it so that kid would go back to yanking on its mouth and kicking away at its side. Finally that poor mule had had enough and did a little crow hop as that kid was harpooning the heck out of it. Off comes the kid and now, in front of everyone, he is pissed. Say what you want about a mule but they don’t back down for nothing…..that poor kid was backed into the corner of the arena and made a dive between the arena fence rails.

I was glad to see that the kid had decided his cowboy days were over, gave the mule back and bought a 2 wheel rice rocket.