Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wiring electric baseboard heater

Wiring electric baseboard heater

I'm trying to help a friend with his Marley electric baseboard heater wiring. Heater is rated at 1500 watts,208/240 volt. He ran 12/2 wire with ground from the circuit breaker box (20 amp double pole breaker) to a Mears M602W thermostat. From the thermostat he ran the 12/2 to the heater. My question is the thermostat has (beside the ground) two black wires and two red wires. How should the 12/2 wire be connected to the thermostat? Does the 12/2 HOT wire (black) connect to the red or black wires of the thermostat, and the white (neutral) connect to the other pair?

Now to make it more interesting how does the 12/2 connect at the heater itself? I believe he has black and red wires there also, but can't remember if it is a single or double black and red wires. [img]/forums/images/icons/confused.gif[/img] Thank you in advance. Stanley

Re: Wiring electric baseboard heater

I'm not a pro electrician, but it doesn't seem that he has 220 going to the thermostat to start with [img]/forums/images/icons/confused.gif[/img] . By running 12/2wg, you're only good for 110. I think, without seeing the wiring diagram for the thermostat, that 12/3wg should be run, then the hot black tto the black on device, and the red to red on the device. In other words, black to black in, black to black out, and the same with the red. The white nuetral is usually just that, NUETRAL. In some circumstances such as lighting, the white can become a hot wire. But I won't go there for now.

Inspector 507 can definetely explain better than I, I'm sure you'll be getting a reply from him. [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
    Trucks are red, Tractors are blue.