Thread: Blueberries,anyone grow them?

Blueberries,anyone grow them?

im thinking about grow a patch of blueberries for a u pick or sell at local store, farmers market, any one got a project like that going on? any advice? Rose

Re: Blueberries,anyone grow them?

I don't have them in the ground yet, but I'm doing the same thing. This past year, I planted 1000 Christmas trees and 200 raspberries. Next year will be another 1000 tress and 250 high-bush blueberries. But I've been working at this for a couple of years..... reading books, going to all the other U-pick places (trees and berries) within 15 miles, writing a business plan, etc.

First thing you need to do is decide exactly what you want to do. Is this a business or a sideline? If it's a business, you'll need to do a business plan. Not because you'll be looking for financial support, but because it makes you think thru what you're doing. Do it in a formal, structured way, with financial sheets. It really does help think it out. If it's just a sideline, you can be much more flexible.

First thing I would do is check out all of the competition. I found that going to all the local U-pick places game me some great insights. Most of them will chat with you about their operation. Then get a couple of books and read up. A good book to start with is the Backyard Berry Book by Stella Otto (ISBN:0-9634520-6-1). You might have a lot of soil prep to do. Get soil tested. You'll need to decide what varieties you'll plant and find some suppliers. OK, that's probably a years work. I can offer more insight later.

[img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]