Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1st try raising chicks: what the avg loss rate?

1st try raising chicks: what the avg loss rate?

I'm about to pull the trigger on an order of chicks, probably from McMurray. This is my first try at raising chicks and it's for pleasure and eggs for a family of four. Are there any rules of thumb for the loss ratio? What are some of your experiences? Thanks.

Re: 1st try raising chicks: what the avg loss rate

Generally speaking the loss ratio may be dependant on the knowledge of the owner.

Keep them warm,dry, lots of space, proper food, water and isolate any chick the others are picking on.

Then there are always the unknowns. Free run eggs are just plain different.

Several years ago we had company and comments were made on the tasty eggs. Free run purchased at a local store.

Egon [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Re: 1st try raising chicks: what the avg loss rate?

Try to order a dozen. Two will be DOA.
    If kept warm, dry and fed only one other might die.
    THe dog will get one.

We got 4 ducks to go with ours and now they hang out together. The adult chickens frown, but hey!

If you don't have any other chickens then the group will set its own rules. If you already have a few, then fence off an outside area and let them see them a for a week before you merge them. You still need to watch for "pecking order problems" Kinda like high school. [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

We have had 3 sets of chickens and ducks from Mcmurray and NO loses yet. We just followed the suggested way of taking care of them and now problems.
    http://www.poultryconnection.com/phpBB2/index.php
    Go to them and ask questions too, they know everything about birds.
    its 5 o'clock somewhere

Cambridge, New York in beautiful Washington County, next to Vermont