Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: horse fencing options please

horse fencing options please

Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the best posting location on this web site for the following question, but here it goes.........

I'm completely new at this country living stuff, but I love it. We bought 5 flat acres in western Oregon and want to get a couple horsed eventually. Question: What is the best, most economical type fence we should put around the land to contain the horses?

I will definitely read some of the posts on fencing throughout this wonderful web site, but would appreciate a few different opinions from you enlightened folks.

Thank you very much!

Kent [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Re: horse fencing options please

"....the best, most economical type fence we should put around the land to contain the horses?...."
    I have field fencing with one electric braid at about four feet height on my patures and they are doing a good job in contain my horses.
    Cotton

We put in 3 strand high tensile electric fencing and it works great, seems to last very well.

We used 6 - 8 inch corner and brace wood posts, metal t posts inbetween, 12 gauge aluminized wire.

We have the two strands of wire hot with the other two grounded to make sure we have a good ground along the fence.

Kent,
    Welcome to CBN.

I think I might have run through my thoughts on horse fencing on the sister site TBN but I can’t find it. So let me give you the condensed version which I admit is just my personal preference. My preference in order is below.

1. I think the best horse fencing is 2-5 rail pipe fencing with Red Brand 5’ no climb(its important that the wire be wrapped, not welded at the intersections and that the open spaces be no bigger than about 3” so a foot cant kick through it). You can run a hot wire around the inside at the top and bottom to keep them off the fence.