Thread: Filly with a hernia

Filly with a hernia

I was offered a 4 month old filly with an umbilical hernia probably about the size of a goose egg. I figure it is going to cost me about $600 or so to get it fixed. Just wanted to find out some info on the fillys bloodline. The sires bloodline is Doc o lena and Colonal Freckles and the dams bloodline is Peponita and Wonderbar . Any info would be appreciated.

Re: Filly with a hernia

Hello horseriderRO, I'm not a expert on bloodlines of any breed but have been around horses for a while and know Doc o Lena/Colonial Freckles boodline on Sire which has great horses out of them! Not familiar with other side but at a $600 repair YOU can't go wrong with a good family horse! Fix her up & I bet U'll have a ball raising her! Good LUCK! roho

I am with Roho. If she seems sound, talented and good minded then I would sure spend the money. I would only tend to use bloodlines as a general guideline and if I were I would sure look on the mothers side unless you had a surragate baby.

DocOlena, Colonel Freckles and Peponita have a strong reputation based on thier babies. Peponita has a good cutting stud called Mr Peponita Flow that also throws good babies that can cross over make good reiners. Doc O lena has Smart Chic Olena and they sure breed the heck out of him. Colonel Freckles also has a strong cross discipline group of babies.

To me, the biggest influence is the mother so if she was good minded then chances are yours will be too.

Best of luck and keep us posted on the outcome.
    Mark

Looks like her hernia will be fixed within the next 45 days depending on how she does with halter breaking and being taken away from mom. So well see!!! Thanks!