Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How many people use Tax Software

How many people use Tax Software

Is it worth the money, $39.00 with state return included, how "mistake free" are they.

Buck
    My tractor is not a toy, its one of many tools of the trade

Re: How many people use Tax Software

I can't say whether it's worth the cost (although it has been for me because it's quick, easy, and convenient) or whether it's "mistake free" (I don't know of my return being audited by the IRS, but at least I haven't heard from them, so I hope neither I nor the software made any mistakes), but I've been using TurboTax Deluxe for quite a few years.

I have used Turbo Tax for years. It is easy to use. I like to use the programs because you do not have to enter all the data at once you can do it over days or as I mostly do as I get it. Also if you use it for the second year it will carry items over so all you have to enter is the numbers. I worked for H&R Block one year and the computer programs are probably more acurate thatn what you get from them. Although most of the tax services are now using computer programs. They are simply more accurate when it comes to manipulating numbers than most people are.

I would recommend Turbo Tax. It is pretty much error free. That is for most returns, if you get into some of the more complicated returns and make some changes for assumptions you should go back and check to make sure that the program has accounted for all items that you made changes for.

I did not sleep at a Holiday Inn last night.

However I am a CPA and got out over twenty years ago due to the fact that I was scared of computers and that is the way the industry seemed to be heading, later I realized that was not the fact, justed hated all the BS that went with the job and the firms associated with it.