Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Natural Gas vs. Propane

Natural Gas vs. Propane

Hello again,

My wife and I are planning to break ground in early spring on a 2800 sq ft ranch with unfinished full basement including walkout to the north. We will have radiant floor heating tubing laid in the basement floor but won't install the boiler/water heater... until we finish the basement in the future.

The basement will be block foundation with 2x6 framed upper walls and will be "energy star" rated for efficiency.

I don't know what propane would cost to install, but I just figured the cost for trenching in the natural gas line to the road. My cost will be approx. $4200. I will be speaking with the HVAC contractor soon and will ask to compare to propane. I have no experience with it's efficiency or the ongoing costs or the hassle of having the tank filled periodically.

Are they pretty equal in terms of heating my home?

Leef

Re: Natural Gas vs. Propane

Leef, I've had a great deal of experience with both natural gas and LPG, and either one will do the job just fine. Personally, just for the convenience, I'd much prefer the natural gas, but I don't know what the cost difference would be.

They will both work eqally well and use the same basic equipment.

Due to the pysical characteristics of propane[ heavier than air] I'd vote for natural gas.

Cost difference may be an undeterminable item and may vary from year to year.

Egon

Due to the pysical characteristics of propane[ heavier than air] I'd vote for natural gas.