Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Eye protectioin for plasma

Eye protectioin for plasma

I bought a #5 shade for using with tha plasma cutter but there was a warning with it stating not for protecting your eyes from the rc rays of arc welding. So can one or more of you welding experts comment on plasma cutting eye protection? The manual with my cutter said #4 or #5 but the welding supply only had #5 (intended for a gas torch I think.) Is there a problem?

[img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img] Pat [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
    "I'm not from your planet, monkey boy!"

Re: Eye protectioin for plasma

I've been using dark O/A glasses for 2 1/2 years with my 40 AMP Miller. I think they are #5. I haven't noticed any problems with vision or even sun burn. I can weld for 10 minutes with my MIG and get tender areas on my arms.
    I cut a lot of dirty 3/8" and 1/2" bolts with mine and the arc is sticking out almost an inch when I cut. For normal cutting most of the arc will be under the metal. Be careful with Aluminum or Stainless, the reflecting will be more intense.

Stimw, I started using the #5 glass and it helps. I can see the chalk markings and other details much better with indoor lighting with the #5 than my auto-darkening helmet switched off.

Cut my first sheet metal with the plasma. Man oh man, talk about like a hot knife through soft butter... I like the edge it leaves, no fishooks. You can rub the edge with your finger and not come close to being cut, way safer than handling metal cut with snips.

With the #5 I can see well enough to free hand. Beforre I made circle templates to make round cuts and used straight edges for guides for straight cuts. Templates still are a super neat and easy way to do good work but it is GOOD to be able to see what you are doing and be able to free hand as well.