Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Boiled Peanuts in Pressure Cooker

Boiled Peanuts in Pressure Cooker

For anyone who likes boiled peanuts and have never used a pressure cooker to make them. I have been doing it like this for about 6 years and there are some tricks. I cook them for 25 minutes under pressure then let them cool in the salted water. If you don't let them cool in the water they tend to shrivel up and the salt doesen't get into them.
    For those not familiar with regular boiling it takes about 2-4 hours depending on the size of the batch.

Re: Boiled Peanuts in Pressure Cooker

Tell me more about boiling peanuts. I'm a peanut addict, but I get the raw shelled jumbo Spanish peanuts, roast them in the microwave, then add butter or margarine and salt. I've never boiled any. I do like the peanuts that are "roasted?" and salted still in the shell. Are you talking about boiling peanuts in the shell or after being shelled?

Boiled peanuts are popular here in the south. You take green peanuts right out of the ground in the shell, wash them good and boil them either in a large pot or as in my case pressure cooker. You add about 1/4 box of salt to a gallon water/peanuts. When cooked they have a cooked bean texture, firm but soft. I've been told you can cook dried peanuts after soaking them but have never tried it.
    They are like potato chips in that you can't eat just one! Also the not fully developed peanuts have soft shells and you can eat the hole thing shell and all. Very addictive. They are best when hot but can be kept in the fridge for a couple weeks.

I'd like to try them sometime. It really doesn't sound very good to me, and I have one friend who told me he had tried them and they were terrible. [img]/forums/images/icons/laugh.gif[/img] Guess it just depends on your taste. My parents used to like the raw shelled peanuts, and I don't care for that either; I want mine roasted.

Bird, (et al), Don't you recall this ditty?

Peas, peas, peas, peas