Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mulching Raspberries

Mulching Raspberries

Does anyone know if Raspberrie canes will push through a woodchip mulch?

Re: Mulching Raspberries

Raspberry canes will push through nearly anything softer than concrete. Seriously, if the mulch is relatively course or at least not packed down, the canes should not be unduly delayed making it through.

I have considerable experience with wild blackberies should you be interested.

[img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img] Pat [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
    "I'm not from your planet, monkey boy!"

I use woodchip mulch for my blackberries. No problem

The only problem might be the nitrogen. Woodchips consume all of the nitrogen as they break down. You might want to throw down some bone meal to keep things even.

I am a beginner with raspberries. I have a really helpful book, but I still have a couple of questions. This looks like a knowledgeable group of folks.

First, I have Tayberries, which are a cross between blackberries and raspberries. Do I prune them like a black berry or a raspberry?

Also, I have mulched them with straw that has some chicken manure in it. Thinking that the manure will rot down through the straw before it can burn the berry roots. Does anyone have experience with this?

Thanks!

Seaphish

Are the canes supine or erect? Whichever parent they resemble is what I'd try for a pruning model. With blackberries you'd want to remove all canes that are going to be 4 years old as they are non producing and in the way. Other than that I don't know much about blackberries excep[t picking and eating.

In the last few days I brush hogged oodles of excess wild blackberries, I have reserves far beyond what I would ever pick.

Pat [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
    "I'm not from your planet, monkey boy!"