Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How many strands for barbed wire fence?

How many strands for barbed wire fence?

We have an existing barb wire fence on the south end of our property that in well inside our property line. We want to install a new fence on the actual property line. We need to keep barb wire because occasionally cattle break through another fence into that area, and we want to keep them out. We're total newbies at this. We originally thought we would install 4 strands, but we're wondering if 3 strands would be enough. Also, we're considering 6 1/2' T-posts, and installing them 18-24 inches in the ground. Is that enough? I would appreciate anyone's thoughts. We'd like to do this as inexpensively as possible right now.

Re: How many strands for barbed wire fence?

Three strands might work on grown cows, but if a calf gets througha 3 wire, momma will come get him. I suggest a 4 wire and have an experienced fence builder do the install. Otherwise, you'll just waste your time and money. Make sure that whoever does the work uses "H" bracesat all corners, 1/4 mile breaks and on either side of gates. Powder River gates are inexpensive and work pretty good. Also instead of cattle guards, you can stretch cut-up truck inertubes across at ground level, that way you can drive over them but the cows won't cross it.
    2008 F-250 V-10 Loaded
    2007 Lincoln LT grocery getter
    2007 Kubota RTV 900
    1996 Ford Bronco

I agree with Mike. If a bovine wants in, they will get there (short of pipe or a solid masonry wall).
    See what others in your area are doing, and how it works for them.
    Oh, and welcome to CBN! [img]/forums/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]