Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Traveling with pets

Traveling with pets

I'm moving and will be driving 1100 miles with 3 pets, a dog (golden retriever) and 2 cats (a hefty calico and small short hair). It's my first time ever traveling with pets. I'm absolutely shocked at some of the "pet fees" that hotels require. Holiday Inn Express generally charges $10 per night PER PET! One Holiday said it would be $50! A Marriott (which I hate anyway) wants $75! Do those of you who travel with pets really pay these outlandish fees or do you just not tell the hotel you have pets? Geez, and I thought the oil companies were the experts at gouging!

Re: Traveling with pets

For "responsible" pet owners, I agree that it sounds high, but from what I've personally seen with pet owners in apartments, motels, and RV parks, I really can't blame them for charging those prices. In fact, I would strongly suspect that they lose money at $10 a night per pet. It's a bit like the restrooms in the service stations my dad owned when I was a teenager. Unless you've seen it in person, it's hard to believe people can be as nasty as they are sometimes, and for those who didn't know it, the women trashed the restrooms worse than the men did.

I was charged 12.00 for a cockatiel at the Best Western American Inn in Van Horn Texas in August on my way to my mother's funeral. Guess where I will never stay again.

My wife and I will always remember Van Horn, TX, for having the worst restaurant we ever ate in on 2/18/90. We spent several days there in an RV park and had no complaints with the little town except for that one cafe, and as you might expect, I think it's gone out of business since then. [img]/forums/images/icons/laugh.gif[/img]