Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: portable saw mill question

portable saw mill question

can anyone name reliable portable saw mill manufacturers...i don't want to spend but around $6,000

Re: portable saw mill question

Do a Google and you should find lots of hits.

For the money you wish to spend a portable bandsaw mill will be about the bare minimum.

If you are looking for a good chainsaw mill you can get a pretty good one for that money.

Around here there are lots of Woodmizer Mills. I have no experience with them.

Egon [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

A lot depends on what you are trying to do, e.g., a small commercial operation or cutting up a small quantity of timber as a one time job, and the size of the logs.

I am no expert ... my only hands on experience is helping my brother in law a few years ago who hired a friend who owned a Wood-Mizer brand trailer mounted sawmill to cut up quite a few downed trees on our family property following a hurricane.

These were, for the most part, 70 to 80 year old Southern pine trees that we cut up into 8' to 10' lengths. My big take away from this experience is .... them is really heavy chunks of wood.

Thankfully, the had hydraulics to lift and turn the logs. I can't imagine how we could have handled those logs by hand. Just getting them up to the mill using cant hooks was tough enough.

If you are going to set up a small time commercial operation, I think you will discover in short order that trying to make do with a small time machine is going to run your labor costs way too high to turn a profit. A larger machine my be a bigger investment than you'd like, i.e., greater than $6K, but it will be money well spent.

If you are looking for a small machine to do a one time job, or the occasional small job, you might be better off hiring someone who has the mill (which is what my brother in law did).
    Steve
    Eqqus Keepus Brokus