Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pulled the trigger on a boehr billy!!

Pulled the trigger on a boehr billy!!

Well the new goat has been picked out and approved of! [img]/forums/images/icons/laugh.gif[/img] Born in May 2008. Have not seen out side of the crate was transported in yet. He is going to the neighbor's for a bit until i can finish his new pen for quarantine and then one for his 'girlfriends' [img]/forums/images/icons/wink.gif[/img]. Full blooded boehr with a little black gene mixed in for good measure so he can throw lots of colors. I guess that is worth more but i am learning yet.

This is totally exciting and something i have been working towards for about 15 years. Been reading up, but will take any and all offers of stories and info. We have lots of ethnic markets here for goat, so i am anticipating a good market, but will cultivate that soon enough. First things first.

Pinch me or tickle me, this is soooo exciting!!!!!!! [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
    No fun, change the rules!!!

Re: Pulled the trigger on a boehr billy!!

Sounds like your pretty knowledgeable already. I know the boers seem to go pretty high in the local ads here. I think a quality buck is the key. I don't know a whole lot about goats. I've got just 3 mixed goats for brush control. However, based on what I've read, good quality meat goats can be a money maker. especially if you have a good local ethnic market. Good luck.

Thanks, i will need it. Still cleaning the barn out, and creating their pens. I have a neighbor who has had them for a while and they are being VERY helpful and i have been reading as much as i can.

Still hoping for some others to jump in with forums etc for discussions, whining, venting, whatever!!

Welcome to the Boer goat world! [img]/forums/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]