Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beekeeping

Beekeeping

My husband and I are tossing around the idea of beekeeping. Just curious to see if there are any beekeeper's out there who can share a little on their experiences?

I've never done it but I have honey bees that we are trying to get rid of. Why would you want to do this? Is it going to help you financially? I'm curious to know why people want to keep these bees around? I can't find many people who are willing to take ours.

I haven't done it before but my dad just got a hive and is going to try it. I am looking forward to being able to get some beeswax in a few years to make candles with and I love honey in my tea so that will be nice as well.

I would love to find someone willing to give there bees away... I want to get a couple of hives but have not been able to as of yet.....

I have been beekeeping for about 7 years now. i normally have only 2-4 hives. It is kind of struggle for me. I live in NoID and the winters are too long. It is a problem to keep the bees alive thru the winter. Often they get dicease, such as nossema. This year, one of the bigger beekeepers promised me to take my two hives to California during the winter, he get paid for pollination and maybe I get my bees alive after the winter. It is a fine hobby but not easy. It would be hard to do as business.

I've never done it but I have honey bees that we are trying to get rid of. Why would you want to do this? Is it going to help you financially? I'm curious to know why people want to keep these bees around? I can't find many people who are willing to take ours.
    I used to feel the same way, but then I learned that bees are vital to pollinating our gardens and flowers. I also learned that they have been dying in large numbers for no apparent reason. After learning that, I became interested in possibly getting a hive.