Thread: My basement pond

My basement pond

So we decided to do some digging in our basement to be able to put some drainage pipes in. We have a high water table so it's like I have a few little ponds down there. What I'm wondering is, should we run some perforated pipe to get this water to the sump pit while we dig? It's getting difficult to dig. We are only digging down 1 ft and are leaving about 1 ft around the perimeter as to not disturb the stone walls that have been sitting on the soil 4' down for over 100 years. The walls are straight. Should we use a pump instead and pump the water to the sump. How do these construction guys keep the water out of the areas they are digging when they start a building? Sometimes I see these huge ponds during a development.

All over the USA and plan overseas when I retire
    I think there are times when they attempt to keep the water out but it does not always happen as planned. I am no pro when it comes to this either but I would like to know the answer since we are thinking of putting a mini pond out back.