Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mead Making

Mead Making

I have found a couple of very easy recipes to make mead. It is even easier than making wine and easier than brewing beer. Tomorrow I will make my first batch. Are there any people out there who make mead? What have been your experience? Any suggestions for a newbie. I can't wait for the first batch to be ready.

I've never heard of this before at first I thought you were talking about a kind of bread, what is mead and what is it made out of and does it need to be fermented? How long does the process take before you can drink it. I'm intrigued. :licking:

Oh, that sounds good! Can you share the recipe please? I'm sorry I have no tips, for I'm a newbie too.

Countrystepper--mead is fermented honey with water and yeast.

I've drunk it but never made it. There is a wonderful place that we visited where we tasted lots of different types of mead, some still and some carbonated, mixed with berries and rhubarb. They have a website here.

Chiquita just saw this thread...I have!
    Strawberry Mead. About six gallons of it.
    The biggest difference between making beer and mead is that the Mead Mash needs air during the primary fermentation.
    I used an old fish tank bubbler with new hose and stone. If you were doing beer the air would spoil the batch but with
    mead it helps break down the honey.

Quote Originally Posted by countrystepper View Post
    I've never heard of this before at first I thought you were talking about a kind of bread, what is mead and what is it made out of and does it need to be fermented? How long does the process take before you can drink it. I'm intrigued. :licking: